Miss Lava are back with “Sonic Debris”

The Portuguese stoner rockers Miss Lava return in 2016 with “Sonic Debris”, their third album, to be released worldwide through Small Stone Records.

“Sonic Debris” witnesses the band with a new bass player and exploring new sonic landscapes, consequence of an open and inclusive creative process which led Miss Lava to design explosive sound textures, get high on psychedelic asteroids and unleash obscure beasts. The album is, in fact, a sonic travel with a diversity not yet evidenced by the band.

“Sonic Debris” is the successor to “Red Supergiant” (2013), “Blues for the Dangerous Miles” (2009) – named by Loud Magazine as one of the top 5 Portuguese albums of the year – and a limited edition self-titled blood red vynil EP (2008).

Over the years, the band has been playing live in UK, Spanish and German tours as well as slots in different festivals – Stoned from the Underground (Germany), Stonefest (Spain), and the portuguese Super Bock Super Rock, Rock in Rio Lisboa (Vodafone Stage), Reverence Valada, Vagos Open Air, Barroselas Metal Fest and Faro Bike Meeting. Miss Lava even made a one-off appearance at the legendary Whisky a Go-Go in Los Angeles.The band has shared stage with the likes of Queens of the Stone Age, Metallica, Mastodon, Slash & Friends, Graveyard, Ufommammut, Greenleaf, W.A.S.P., Kyuss Lives!, Fu Manchu, Valient Thorr, Entombed, Meshuggah, Truckfighters, Barn Burners and Year Long Disaster.

The band’s previous videos had big rotation on MTV Portugal (the song “Don’t Tell a Soul” was chosen to be the soundtrack for the promos to the “Skins” tv series in Portugal) and the video for “Ride”, the first single of Red Supergiant, was filmed in Las Vegas and the Mojave desert by Joerg Steineck.

With “Sonic Debris”, Miss Lava expect to launch a series of singles and videos to promote the album and announce many European dates throughout 2016 and 2017.

Stay tuned.

Miss Lava is:
Johnny Lee: Vocals
J. Garcia: Drums
K. Raffah: Guitars
Ricardo Ferreira: Bass and Vocals

All music by Miss Lava /// All lyrics by Johnny Lee
Miss Lava is
J. Garcia /// Drums
Johnny Lee /// Vocals
K. Raffah /// Guitars
Ricardo Ferreira /// Bass and Vocals

Tiago Jónatas plays theremin and freaks out with fx on “I’m The Asteroid”
and “In A Sonic Fire We Shall Burn”;
Rui Guerra guests on the intro of “The Silent Ghost Of Doom”;
Marco Resende sings backings on “Another Beast Is Born”;
Salvador Gouveia lends his satanical voice to “Another Beast Is Born”;
Fernando Matias plays guitars on “In A Sonic Fire We Shall Burn”.

Design and Artwork by josemendes.me
Photograpy by André Cardoso; Post-production by João Filipe.

Produced by Fernando Matias and Miss Lava.
Engineered by Fernando Matias, José Pedro Ataíde and Ricardo Bravo.
Recorded at Pentagon Audio Manufacturers, JDB Showroom
and Estúdio Crossover in Lisbon at different times in 2014 and 2015.
Mixed by Benny Grotto at Mad Oak Studios, Boston, MA.
Mastered by Chris Goosman at Baseline Audio Labs – Ann Arbor, MI.
Published by Small Stone Records (ASCAP).


J. Garcia


Johnny Lee


K. Raffah


Ricardo Ferreira

Bass and Vocals